Women's Golf Association of India

(Professional Golf)

Gaurika Bishnoi in action

Gaurika starts with impressive 4-under 68 to lead the 8th leg of Hero WPG Tour

Hosur, Tamil Nadu, June 14: Gaurika Bishnoi fed off some great memories from her last win at the Clover Greens in Hosur to shoot 4-under 68 at the same venue and take the first round lead in the eighth leg of the Hero Women's Pro Golf Tour 2023. Gaurika, a multiple winner on the Hero WPG Tour, won the title when the Tour last came to Clover Greens in 2019.

Gaurika, starting the day promisingly with birdies on second and third, did drop a shot on third but was playing steady. She got another birdie on Par-3 eighth to turn in 2-under. On the back nine, birdies on 11th and 13th were followed by a bogey on 14th, but back-to-back birdies on 16th and 17th saw her rise to 5-under. An unfortunate bogey on the closing 18th pulled her back to 4-under.

Seher Atwal indicated how much she had gained from the experience of going to the Ladies European Tour events, as she played solid with four birdies against one bogey for a 69 and was sole second.

Four players, including two amateurs, and two other young stars indicated Indian women’s golf’s good progress as they were tied third with 1-under 71 each. The four were amateurs Keerthana Reddy and Saanvi Somu, with young pros Hitaashee Bakshi and Sachika Singh.

Kriti Chowhan and Jasmine Shekar were tied seventh with even par 72 each, while things did not go as well for Sneha Singh, a two-time winner this year. Sneha was Tied-ninth with a round of 73. It was an up-and-down ride for Sneha, who had six birdies, but also gave away five bogeys and a double bogey. Tied at ninth with Sneha were Anisha Agarwalla and amateur Ayushi Dutta, who shot 73 each.

Seasoned Tvesa Malik had a rough start with four-over 76 that included a double bogey on Par-4 third hole and a quadruple bogey on Par-3 fourth hole.

Tee times for Round 2 of the Leg 8 on the Hero Women's Pro Golf Tour 2023 at Clover Greens, Hosur, Tamil Nadu

1. 8:00. am: Vrinda Yadav 85 Karishma Govind 84;

2. 8:10. am: Taniya Balasuriya 83 Ayesha Kapur 83 Suchitra Ramesh 83

3. 8:20. am:: Ishvari Prasanna 82 Yaalisai Verma 80 Mehar Atwal 79

4. 8:30. am:: Riya Yadav 79 Rhea Purvi S. 78 Ravjot K Dosanjh 78

5 8:40. am: Aaradhya Shetty (A) 78 Rhea Jha 78 Khushi Khanijau 78

6 8:55. am: Snigdha Goswami 76 Disha Kavery 76 Tvesa Malik 76

7 9:05. am: Shweta Mansingh 75 Neha Tripathi 75 Gauri Karhade 75

8 9:15. am: Durga Nittur 75 Agrima Manral 75 Geetika Ahuja 75

9 9:25. am: Ananya Datar 74 Anvitha Narender (A) 74 Rishika Muralidhar 74

10 9:40. am: Jyotsana Singh 74 Ayushi Dutta (A) 73 Sneha Singh 73

11 9:50. am: Anisha Agarwalla 73 Jasmine Shekar 72 Kriti Chowhan 72

12 10:00. am: Hitaashee Bakshi 71 Sachika Singh 71 Saanvi Somu (A) 71

13 10:10. am: Keerthana Rajeev (A) 71 Seher Atwal 69 Gaurika Bishnoi 68

our sponsor

Ms. Hitaashee Bakshi receiving winner's cheque and trophy from Mr. Tusch Daroga, AVP Ops-DLF G&CC