Women's Golf Association of India

(Professional Golf)

Amandeep in action

Amandeep recovers on back nine to stretch lead to five shots in 4th leg of Hero WPGT

Kolkata, Feb 22: Amandeep Drall had two contrasting streaks in her second round but still managed the day’s best card of 1-over 71 that extended her lead to five shots with one round to go at the Tollygunge Club. On a difficult day for scoring, there were no under par scores and after 36 holes, only Amandeep is even par.

With 69-71 Amandeep is now even par 140 and five shots ahead of Seher Atwal, who added 73 to her first round 72. Seher was tied second with Khushi Khanijau (71-74) and Vani Kapoor (70-75).

Amandeep had a nightmarish start as she bogeyed second and third and double bogeyed fourth to be four-over after four holes. Another bogey on sixth meant she was five-over and staring at a disappointing card. A birdie on the ninth changed things as she birdied 11th, eagled the par-5 13th and birdied 15th to get to even par. A bogey on 17th did disappoint, but overall she had saved the day for herself.

Seher Atwal, winner of the opening leg this season, had a roller coaster ride with five birdies and eight bogeys and just five pars. She did not have a single par between ninth and 17th in an incredible streak which included six bogeys and three birdies. Earlier she had back-to-back bogeys on third and fourth and back-to-back birdies on sixth and seventh.

Khushi had two birdies against six bogeys, while Vani Kapoor had just one birdie and five bogeys.

Neha Tripathi (72-75) was sole fifth. She was hit by a triple bogey on Par-5 seventh as she shot 75.

Last week’s winner and runner-up Sneha Singh (76-72) and Jasmine Shekar (72-76) were tied sixth while Saaniya Sharma, Agrima Manral and amateur Janneya Dasanniee rounded off the eighth, ninth and tenth places respectively.

The cut fell at 16, with 19 professionals and 4 of the 6 amateurs going through to the final round.

Tee times for the third and final round of the fourth leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour at the Tollygunge Club:

1. 8:00 am: Shweta Mansingh 156, Jyotsana Singh 156,

2. 8:10 am: Rhea Purvi Saravanan 156, Mehar Atwal 155, Geetika Ahuja 155,

3. 8:20 am: Anisha Agarwalla 155, Lavanya Jadon (A) 154, Rhea Jha 154,

4. 8:30 am: Lakhmehar Pardesi 154, Astha Madan 153, Anaahat Bindra (A) 153,

5. 8:45 am: Siddhi Kapoor 152, Smriti Bhargav (A) 152, Janneya Dasanniee (A) 151,

6. 8:55 am: Agrima Manral 150, Saaniya Sharma 149, Jasmine Shekar 148,

7. 9:05 am: Sneha Singh 148, Neha Tripathi 147, Vani Kapoor 145,

8. 9:15 am: Khushi Khanijau 145, Seher Atwal 145, Amandeep Drall 140,

our sponsor

Mr. Vittal Belandor, Secretary-BGC & Mr. D N Vasanth Kumar, Captain-BGC jointly handing over the winner's cheque and trophy to Anvitha Narender.