Women's Golf Association of India

(Professional Golf)

Pranavi in action

Pranavi, Amandeep and Bakshi sisters among top contenders in fifth leg of Hero WPGT

Gurugram, March 14:A strong field has assembled once again for the fifth leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour which tees off at the DLF Golf and Country Club on Tuesday. The purse of Rs.11 lakhs, the highest this season and the second time after Leg-3 at BPGC Mumbai, will act as an added incentive for the golfers.

The field has 37 players, including six amateurs, making it one of the largest on the Hero WPGT. Barring Ladies European Tour regulars Tvesa Malik and Diksha Dagar, who are scheduled to play at the Saudi Ladies International this week, the fifth leg will have all other strong contenders.

Amandeep Drall, who was in the reserve list for Saudi, will lead the list of contenders, which includes Pranavi Urs, winner of two of the first four legs and Hitaashee Bakshi, who won the third leg earlier this month.

As usual joining them is Jahanvi Bakshi, who won four times last year, and was the top professional when amateur Sneha Singh won the second leg in February. Other contenders for the honours will include Vani Kapoor, who is slowly but steadily finding her form, more so after playing a series of events in South Africa where she had three Top-20 finishes in three starts, Gaurika Bishnoi, runner-up in Leg 1, Ridhima Dilawari, runner-up to Hero Order of Merit leader Pranavi in Leg 4, Seher Atwal and Lakhmehar Pardesi among others.

One of the marquee groups in the first round will see Seher, Gaurika and Ridhima, while Hitaashee has promising amateur Zara Anand and Suchitra Ramesh with her. Jahanvi Bakshi goes out with Neha Tripathi and Lakhmehar Pardesi.

Tee times for Round 1 of the fifth Leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour at the DLF Golf and Country Club, Gurugram:

1 8:30 am : Nishna Patel (A); Jyotsana Singh;

2 8:40 am : Rhea Jha; Geetika Ahuja;

3 8:50 am : Jahanvi Bakshi; Neha Tripathi; Lakhmehar Pardesi;

4 9:00 am : Hitaashee Bakshi; Zara Anand (A); Suchitra Ramesh;

5 9:10 am : Shweta Mansingh; Rhea Purvi Saravanan; Saanvi Somu (A);

6 9:20 am : Shagun Narain; Smriti Bhargav (A); Vani Kapoor;

7 9:35 am : Ishvari Prasanna; Smriti Mehra; Asmitha Sathish;

8 9:45 am : Seher Atwal; Gaurika Bishnoi; Ridhima Dilawari;

9 9:55 am : Agrima Manral; Kriti Chowhan (A); Pranavi Urs;

10 10:05 am : Saaniya Sharma; Durga Nittur; Nayanika Sanga;

11 10:20 am : Khushi Khanijau; Astha Madan; Oviya Reddi;

12 10:30 am : Trimann Saluja; Anisha Agarwalla; Amandeep Drall;

13 10:40 am : Heena Kang (A); Afshan Fatima; Riya Yadav;