Gaurika faces stiff challenge from Ridhima, Neha and Astha

Bengaluru, July 2: Gaurika Bishnoi will be hoping to extend her lead at the top of the Hero Order of Merit, as the players get set for the ninth leg of the Tour. Three weeks after hosting the eighth leg, the pristine Prestige Golfshire is all set to host back-to-back events.

The event, which features 25 professionals and three amateurs, carries a purse of Rs.Ten lakhs for the third successive time and it marks a record by itself as women’s golf in India continues to grow stronger.

Even as the winner of the last event, Tvesa Malik withdrew on medical grounds, the field is still very strong with Gaurika Bishnoi facing a stiff challenge from Ridhima Dilawari, one of the three players to have won twice this season. The field also includes Astha Madan, who has gained invaluable experience by playing on international events outside India, Neha Tripathi, experienced Smriti Mehra, Amandeep Drall, Gursimar Badwal and Millie Saroha, who has time and again come close to a title which has eluded her.

The eight legs so far this season have been won by five players. Gaurika Bishnoi, Tvesa Malik and Ridhima Dilawari having won twice each while Neha Tripathi and Gursimar Badwal have won once each.

Amandeep Drall, a consistent performer is still looking for her maiden title this year.

Some of the other players like Aditi Ashok, Diksha Dagar, Vani Kapoor and Sharmila Nicollet have been busy on the various international Tours.

Tee times for Round 1, Leg 9, Hero WPGT, Prestige Golfshire

8:00 AM: Sneha Sharan (A) and Afshan Fatima;

8:10 AM: Gaurika Bishnoi and Jyotsana Singh;

8:20 AM: Rhea P. Saravanan (A), Shriya Vivek and Smriti Mehra;

8:30 AM: Ishvari Prasanna, Siddhi Kapoor and Astha Madan;

8:40 AM: Suchitra Ramesh, Amandeep Drall and Mehar Atwal;

8:50 AM: Ayesha Kapur, Khushi Khanijau and Gauri Karhade;

9:00 AM: Komal Chaudhary, Oviya Reddi and Sonam Chugh;

9:10 AM: Neha Tripathi, Anousha Tripathi and Ananya Datar;

9:20 AM: Millie Saroha, Gursimar Badwal and Tanirika Singh;

9:30 AM: Ridhima Dilawari, Ananya Barthakur (A) and Anisha Padukone;