Gaurika takes over lead in second round of ninth leg of Hero WPG Tour

Bengaluru, July 19: Gaurika Bishnoi made just one birdie on the second hole, but still managed to grab the lead at the end of the second round of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour at the Eagleton Golf Resort on Thursday. She carded one birdie and three bogeys in her 74 that put her 1-over 145 and gave her a one-shot lead over Tvesa Malik, whose 71 was the only sub-par round of the day.

Neha Tripathi, the first round leader found the going tough with six bogeys and no birdies in her 78, and with a two day total of 148 she was Tied-3rd alongside amateur Pranavi Urs (76) who had two birdies against six bogeys.

The 19-year-old golfer from Haryana, Gaurika had one win and five runner-up finishes in her Rookie Year in 2017 and is playing only her fourth event this season. She had an early birdie on the second, but with conditions not easy for scoring, she bogeyed fourth, seventh and 10th and parred the rest.

Gursimar Badwal (72), who made a big improvement on her first round 77, had four birdies which was the most on the second day. She is now Tied-5th with Trisha Sunil (75-74).

Suchitra Ramesh had a fine start with back-to-back birdies on second and third, after which the birdies dried up and she carded three bogeys and a double bogey in her 75. She is sole seventh.

Millie Saroha, whose hole-in-one on the first day raised a lot of cheer, shot 75 while amateur Rhea P Saravanan went to 80. Both were Tied-8th. Anisha Padukone (76) and Amandeep Drall (80) were Tied-10th.

The scores clearly indicated that conditions were not as conducive as on the first day.

In the final round, amateur Pranavi Urs, Tvesa Malik and Gaurika Bishnoi will go out last, preceded by Trisha Sunil, Gursimar Badwal and Neha Tripathi. In the morning, Hita Prakash and Afshan Fatima will start the proceedings with Ayesha Kapur and amateur Ankita Kedlaya in the second two-ball. Shweta Mansingh, Sonam Chugh and Khushi Khanijau are in group three with Siddhi Kapoor, Amandeep Drall and Anisha Padukone in group four. Amateur Rhea Saravanan, Millie Saroha and Suchitra Ramesh will tee off in the fifth group.